Certification & Qualification of Nondestructive Test Personnel

Revision 5

Includes all amendments and changes through Amendment 2, March 10, 2022

Published by Aerospace Industries Association – National Aerospace Standard, 09/30/2020


All of our standards are available in PDF (Portable Document Format), an electronic, downloadable format.

Multi-User Access

After purchasing, you have the ability to assign each license to a specific user.


At any time, you are permitted to make printed copies for your and your members' reference use.

NAS 410, Revision 5 – Certification & Qualification of Nondestructive Test Personnel

NAS 410 is a widely recognized standard for the qualification and certification of personnel who perform nondestructive testing (NDT) in the aerospace industry. This standard was originally published in 1996 by the Aerospace Industries Association (AIA) and has since been revised several times, with the latest version published in 2020.

The purpose of NAS 410 is to ensure that NDT personnel have the necessary knowledge, skills, and experience to perform their duties effectively and reliably. This standard sets out the minimum requirements for training, experience, and certification for various levels of NDT personnel.

NAS 410 is designed to be compatible with other industry standards, such as SNT-TC-1A and EN 4179, which also cover the qualification and certification of NDT personnel. However, NAS 410 is specifically tailored to the unique needs of the aerospace industry, which has stringent quality and safety requirements.

The standard defines four levels of NDT personnel: Level 1, Level 2, Level 3, and Senior Level 3. Each level requires a different level of training, experience, and certification.

Level 1 personnel are typically trained to perform basic NDT techniques, such as visual inspection, and are supervised by higher-level personnel. Level 2 personnel are trained to perform more advanced NDT techniques, such as ultrasonic testing or magnetic particle inspection, and are responsible for interpreting test results and making decisions about whether a part is acceptable or not.

Level 3 personnel are responsible for the overall NDT program and are typically involved in the development of procedures and the training of personnel. Senior Level 3 personnel have additional experience and expertise and may be involved in complex NDT projects or research.

To become certified to a specific level under NAS 410, personnel must undergo the required training, gain the necessary experience, and pass a certification exam. Certification is typically valid for a set period of time, after which personnel must undergo recertification to maintain their qualifications.

In addition to personnel qualification and certification, NAS 410 also sets out requirements for NDT procedures, equipment, and record-keeping. These requirements help to ensure consistency and quality in NDT practices, which is critical for maintaining the safety and reliability of aerospace components and structures.

Overall, NAS 410 is an important standard for the aerospace industry, providing a framework for the qualification and certification of NDT personnel and helping to ensure the quality and safety of aerospace components and structures.

General Product Information:

Revision Revision 5
Document Type PDF
Pages 33
Document Language English
Publisher Aerospace Industries Association (AIA/NAS)
Status Current